Deep Fried Christmas Dinner

This year marked my first holiday season as a pescetarian, which doesn’t jibe with traditional southern holiday meals that normally consist of ham, chicken, and black eyed peas made with bacon grease. All of which are fine, I’m just not eating them right now. So, my ever accommodating mother decided that this year we would be eating shrimp and grits. i however don’t like shrimp either so we decided on fried catfish AND shrimp. This I can do. But first…

Meet my mom.

This is Patty. She is a great cooker of comfort foods and cheesecakes. She will basically make anything to make her picky children eat dinner. And here is my mom’s kitchen..

My mom isn’t very impressed with her kitchen, as you can tell by the look on her face, but it’s kind of awesome whether she likes it or not. A few years ago she decided she hated the cabinet doors, so she took them off and adopted this door free shelving system. Not surprisingly my mom knows where everything is, all the time. And get a load of all those cook books.

Here is the set up for the shrimps.We made a pound of little shrimps fried in a tempura batter, pretty basic, but it was my first time making fluffy tempura, so I was super excited.

If you look in the basket you can spot a slice of chocolate french toast I had made for breakfast earlier that day, that I decided to fry. (FYI, it was awesome.) And some hushpuppies my mom was frying while I was frying the shrimps.

here is the setup for the catfish..

Here you can see the fish bits resting after coating. But before I coated the fish in the batter, I cut it into little strips, and then soaked them in a baking dish full of buttermilk for an hour. This makes the catfish less fishy tasting, and makes the meat more juicy after frying. I made the coating for the fish using flour, fine cornmeal and about a 1/2 cup of old bay seasoning. Here is a picture of my fingers during the coating process..

And here is Mom during the frying process..

And here is a big bucket of fried goodness.

AND THAT’S JUST THE CATFISH!

Although the menu originally consisted of shrimp and grits, we forwent the grits altogether, and my sister made her awesome four cheese mac and cheese..

This is just the cheese part of the mac and cheese!

Here is my finished plate, with all the fixin’s-

For the sake of comparison, here is the plate of my sister Dylan, who is a bona fide picky eater.

This is before she has even taken a single bite!!  At least she tried my beets.

After this we all took a nap! Merry Christmas Everybody!

 

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

