OH CORN

Hey it’s been corn season! Have you been taking advantage? I hope so! I would like to share 2 summery corn dishes here that are very genuinely delishes (delicious)!

First off is this dill corn clam soup. Jed and I made this soup together. Earlier that day, I got some fresh corn and 2 dozen clams from from the farmer’s market. You start off this soup by making a corn stock.

Scrape the kernels off about 3 ears of corn, and then reserve the cobs. Saute some onions and garlic in butter and olive oil. Throw the cobs in there too! Let this get soft. Then splash some good white wine in there. We used this CHATEAU DIANA, WHICH IS ACTUALLY A REALLY BAD WINE. WE ARE SO LUCKY IT DIDN’T RUIN OUR SOUP. WHEN JED DRANK SOME, IT WAS LIKE LIQUID GYM SOCKS. I THINK THIS CAN BE FOUND AT THE GAS STATIONS NEAR BARD COLLEGE, DON’T WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!

After that cooks down a little, add some water, maybe about 3 cups. After that comes up to a boil, let that simmer for maybe half an hour or more. Then take out your cobs and throw in your kernels. Let that cook, and right before you’re ready to serve, throw in your clams so that they cook and some FRESH DILL FLOWERS!!

This shouldn’t take long. If you have fresh clams, just close the pot lid and cook the clams just so they open. The dill flowers, we just pulled off the flowers. The stems are a little tough, so don’t use that, unless you like to chew wood.

I didn’t take a picture of the final soup because we ate it all pretty quickly, so I photoshopped an image of what it might have looked like:

THIS WAS SERIOUSLY SO GOOD. PLEASE TRY IT SOMETIME.

I still had some corn left so later that week, I made a corn salad on a salad. I like to grill corn directly on the stove burner:

I scraped the kernels off the cobs afterwards and tossed it with:

  • halved grape tomatoes
  • fresh chopped dill
  • fresh chopped chives
  • some chopped onions
  • mozzarella cheese chunks
  • olive oil
  • lemon juice
  • black pepper
  • paprika

This is what it looked like:

I’m typically totally fine with eating a whole bowl of corn like this, but I was serving it as a meal to my boyfriend and some friends, so I served it on a bed of arugula and cucumbers:

I got a lot of kudos, and it was cool. This was a very yummy salad. I would remake this as well!

Corn is awesome.

Leave a Reply

