Refrigerated Pie Crusts are changing my life

I’ll be the first to admit that I am a pretty timid baker. I’m terrible at measuring things, I don’t like to measure, I don’t have the patience to wait for things to rise, I mix things poorly, I set timers and forget about them, etc… But boy oh boy, do I love to eat pie!!

And then, Peter Van Hyning opened up my eyes to the world of ready made pie crusts. I’ve been using this kind:

Much to my happiness, all I had to do was:

  • preheat the oven (I set mine at 400 because it runs a little hot, but I think the instructions call for 450)
  • unroll one of these bad boys onto a pie tin
  • load it up with some fruit (I used RHUBARB for this pie)
  • sprinkle some sugar and flour on top
  • unroll the second pie crust on top
  • cut out a funny face:

  • And then I baked it for 30-45 minutes.
  • BOOM, you have a hot pie.

I ate the crap out of it!! And it was so good!

I made another pie yesterday with strawberries and bananas, and that also ruled. If I make enough of these pies, maybe one day I’ll stop being a pussy and make my own pie crust.

One thought on “Refrigerated Pie Crusts are changing my life

  1. i, too, am rather hesitant with the baking. but ready made crusts are soooo good. remember the pizza dough that came already made? takes the stress out of baking when the ‘bread-element’ is taken care of. then all you have to do is concern yourself with flavor(s)

Leave a Reply

