Salty Peanut Butter Duck Egg Cookies

One day I sold something on Craigslist and went to this farm in Trumansburg, NY to drop off the item.  The woman gave me a tour of her farm and gave me a small bag of duck eggs.  It bothered me that the eggs were still warm from coming out of the ducks and that I had made small talk with the ducks whose bodies they had exited, so I decided if I was going to eat these then they needed to be as removed from the experience of eating eggs as possible.  I altered a recipe for peanut butter cookies and was extremely pleased with the result.  Allow me:

2/3 cup butter

2/3 cup honey

1 cup peanut butter

1 duck egg

2 tablespoons milk

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 3/4 cups flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

7 cups why were you talking to ducks

1 teaspoon salt (more or less depending on how salty you what them to be)

Beat the honey and butter together until it’s satiny.  Touchable almost (resist).  The other wet ingredients may now join.  Peanut butter, egg, milk, vanilla.  Continue beating.  Mix dry ingredients in another bowl, then slowly combine it with the wet mixture.  Oil up your baking sheets and decorate them with an array of tablespoon sized dough balls.  Press your fork into these balls to make crosshatch patterns and bake 12-15 minutes on 325.

Plate made by Zena Pesta.  Cookies made with help of bees, ducks, and cows.

3 thoughts on “Salty Peanut Butter Duck Egg Cookies

  1. haha I (or rather my parents) have pet chickens, and it is gross to pick up the eggs and they’re still warm. All the detachment I need though is to put them in the fridge, let them turn fridge cold, and I’m good to go.

Leave a Reply

