How to make tofurkey exciting.

Dip it in fried dough!!

This was really the best. It was Jojo’s birthday this past week, and the theme of the party was doughnut burger, a dish made famous by the late Luther Vandross. Zena hosted the party in her yard, I brought over a huge bowl of batter ready to deep fry.

The dough was an Italian recipe consisting of:

  • 1 1/4 cup flour
  • 16oz ricotta cheese
  • 3 eggs
  • 3 tbs sugar
  • 3 tsp baking powder

The measurements made a thick batter/wet dough. Adjust accordingly. Fry with the oil about 350. I used peanut oil.

I started trying to fry hot dog buns at the request of Zena. I only made one, but it looked very funny!! I put some dough in a zip loc bag and cut off the tip to make a 3/4 inch hole. Then I squeezed it out in the hot oil. It looked like a long fetus, or some sort of elongated fish, mainly because of the tail trailing off a the end. Funny!! We laughed.

I asked Zena to see the hot dogs these fried dough buns were for, and to my surprise, they were spicy tofurkey sausage! How weird!! I decided to cut them into thirds and dip them in the batter and fry them. I still covered them in powdered sugar afterwards. THEY RULED SO HARD!!!!

Here are pics::

08262009068

08262009067

08262009070

08262009078

08262009082

Also, here was a very dark moment at the party when Zena presents a pinata to our birthday boy Jojo, and his response.

And here was a fun moment when we are all whistling!!

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

