Falafel Bacon Cheese Sandwich

dscn2015

Look what I ate today! It’s a falafel bacon cheese sandwich. The inspiration for this was the concept of a “Middle Eastern Burger,” which would basically be a cheeseburger, except with a falafel patty instead of a hamburger patty, and with basic burger toppings, like bacon, american cheese, tomato, and whatever. This was also made with my very first attempt at making my own falafel. I had some mixed results, but the overwhelming flavor was totally decent, and even delicious. So first I googled “falafel recipe” and the first thing that came up was this link:

http://mideastfood.about.com/od/maindishes/r/falafelrecipe.htm

I assumed that normally whatever is the first on the google list is the best. The recipe they gave me was this:

Prep Time: 15 minutes

Cook Time: 1 hours, 45 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup dried chickpeas or 16 oz. can of chickpeas or garbanzo beans.
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves of garlic, chopped
  • 3 tablespoons of fresh parsley, chopped
  • 1 teaspoon coriander
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • 2 tablespoons flour
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Oil for frying

Preparation:

Place dried chickpeas in a bowl, covering with cold water. Allow to soak overnight. Omit this step if using canned beans.

Drain chickpeas, and place in pan with fresh water, and bring to a boil.

Allow to boil for 5 minutes, then let simmer on low for about an hour.

Drain and allow to cool for 15 minutes.

Combine chickpeas, garlic, onion, coriander, cumin, salt and pepper (to taste) in medium bowl. Add flour.

Mash chickpeas, ensuring to mix ingredients together. You can also combine ingredients in a food processor. You want the result to be a thick paste.

Form the mixture into small balls, about the size of a ping pong ball. Slightly flatten.

Fry in 2 inches of oil at 350 degrees until golden brown (5-7 minutes).

Serve hot.

I used canned chickpeas because it was faster, and used a ton of fresh parsley, but didn’t have any coriander, and used a hand blender. My patties actually ended up a little muushy, which probably resulted from the amount of water absorbed in the canned chickpeas, and also the use of a mechanic blender made the texture very fine. To modify this recipe, I might add an extra tablespoon of flour and maybe muush the chickpeas by hand next time.

Here is what my paste looked like:

dscn2010

dscn2009

I used Polish rolls as the buns, because it was freshly and cheaply and closely available. I also used a horseradish apple sauce as a spread on the sandwich, which RULED. Also on the sandwich was a slice or pressed bacon lunch meat, one slice of American cheese, sliced tomatoes and cucumbers, and…. hummus.

dscn20171

Earlier in this blog when I called these sandwiches “totally decent” I was really selling them short. They were actually VERY GOOD! BUT, I need to up my falafel game, for sure. Here I am with the Coker sisters enjoying these delicious sandwiches. Despite my miserable expressions, I am actually having quite a ball!

dscn20111

dscn2012

dscn2013

Afterwards, I fell into a food coma and enjoyed the latest ULINE catalogue!! The End!

dscn2032

2 thoughts on “Falafel Bacon Cheese Sandwich

Leave a Reply

