Puttanesca Means Whore

So, I made some pasta for lunch in roughly the same way that I always make it; chunky, thick, spicy and meaty. I actually know a wide range of people that make it in a similar fashion. Today I was thinking about it and pasta prima vera and the word “puttanesca” popped into my head. I think because I may have heard someone somewhere down the line call it that. Also I have this problem where certain words with a really excellent ring to them occasionally pop into my head. An example of this is ” Karen Neckyfarow”who is a girl I knew in high school who’s name has SUCH A FUCKING GOOD ring to it.

 

Karen, with her grama?
Karen, with her grama?

At any rate, this is besides the point, except to describe my wholehearted surprise in discovering that the pasta that I thought might be called “pasta alla puttanesca” was indeed called just that. Thank god for wikipedia, honestly. The name means ” pasta the way a whore would make it.” And apparently there is a bunch of debate over whether or not the name comes from the fact that it is spicy and sexy like a lady of ill repute or that is it fast and easy to make, muck like a whore, or that it is fast and easy to make between johns. Who can say. All I know is I make pasta like a whore. 

 

Puttanesca
Puttanesca
2 Comments

  1. I made a puttanesca last night in honor of this posting.

    “sauce the way a whore would make it” screams MAKE ME…food, sex…perfect marriage of the two. Funny thing, I felt beautifully cheap whilst chopping the onions and bell peppers and other such ingredients into large lazy pieces. It was almost visceral. I mean, i’ve made the dish before but last night while determinedly appreciating it’s heritage – i found myself appreciating it so much more.

Leave a Reply

